Life Lists and Goals

Yesterday, Meg on APW wrote an inspiring piece on life lists and crossing off important goals. I think I’ve mentioned many times before, I am a list writer through and through. Daily to do lists, 30 before 30 lists, 101 in 1001 lists, travel lists, clothes lists, Christmas lists (for others!), and many other kinds of lists I don’t want to bombard you with. I believe in the power of lists, for putting my goals into words and for visually keeping me on track – if it’s not crossed off, it still has to be done!

This point in particular really struck me: “For me, the darkest, scariest times in my adulthood have been when I had no idea what I wanted, not when I had no idea how to get what I wanted.” This is me, in a nutshell right at this moment.

Later this week I’ll write about my own goals and lists, what I have on the go and what I want to get going. For now, I’m 1) too exhausted to even write anything, so 2) it will come out all garbledy-gook. Instead for now, let’s look at some interesting points commenters made that stuck in my head. 

(Do I really need to leave a disclaimer about how the following words are not mine? Because seriously, I just said they aren’t.)

In summary, I make a lot of safe decisions that I don’t love, and Im really glad team practical are here to remind me that being safe won’t make me happier most of the time and it will probably all be ok.

i just discovered the power of the list. not the to do list, but the what i want list, what speaks to my soul list. spending time writing those things down made me feel more alive than i have in years.

One of the things I struggle with when it comes to articulating life goals is distinguishing between:
A.) Things I actually want to do, and
B.) Things that I believe some ideal version of myself would want to do

I especially loved your point that surrendering to the bigger picture is powerful. My struggle is to find the balance between the many lists (I love those lists!) and living the bigger picture— being in it. Like you said, not letting the list become another stream of to-dos. I like the idea of writing the list, and tucking it aside. I keep being surprised by how much happens by putting out the intention– realizing what you want.

And finally, a quote by Mark Twain, which is oh-so-appropriate:

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did so. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

Leave a comment

Filed under goals, life

Leave a Reply

